The 7 Chakras in Your Body and How to Align Them

The 7 Chakras in Your Body and How to Align Them

The 7 Chakras in Your Body and How to Align Them

As a part of my fitness journey, I had the chance to join my first yoga class recently, which was different than how I had expected the class to go. What I meant by that is, the struggle to master the art of yoga is truly real! While poses looked easy when demonstrated, it was almost un-doable for a beginner like me. At the end of the hour-long class, I learnt that yoga is truly about the mindset, relaxation and one's ability to stretch and be firmly in touch with oneself.


"Yoga is the journey of the self, through the self, to the self"~ The Bhagavad Gita


Aligning the 7 Chakras in the Human Body


It is believed that the human body contains 7 chakras which affect the peacefulness and balance within yourself. Chakras (Sanskrit for "wheel") are intensive, spinning vortexes of energy in the subtle body that correspond to various glands along the spine and inside the skull. Practicing yoga and meditating regularly are some of the ways you can find balance in your body, mind and spirit.



Each chakra is responsible for specific behaviours and values such as communication and love. Chakras are also responsible for regulating one's health through the bodily systems. Every chakra corresponds to an element, a mantra (repeated syllable) and a specific colour. Practicing yoga breathes life into the chakras and allows the life force energy to flow freely.

Root Chakra-- Muladhara Chakra
  • Location: Base of the spine
  • System: Skeletal
  • Gland: Gonads
  • Associations: Security, survival, safety, money, physical vitality
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Mantra: "Lam"

The Muladhara influences your familial relationship and the senses of survival, belonging, and wariness. Your earliest memories are stored here, the even if your basic needs were or were not met. When Muladhara is blocked or not in balance, you can become needy, have low self-confidence, or even exert self-destructive behaviors on yourself. When it is in balance, you will feel powerful and confident; you can also work independently, and are able to take care of yourself.


 Tree Pose



Belly/Naval Chakra-- Svadhisthana

  • Gland: Adrenals
  • Associations: Sexuality, appetite, creative powers, desires, sensations
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Mantra: "Vam"

This chakra is related to the reproductive and sexual organs, and represents fluidity, creativity, and fertility. There are a few ways to read this chakra: You can either see this literally or look at this symbolically, which concerns you feeling like you are deserving of a pleasurable, abundant, creative life. When it is out of balance, you can feel emotionally unstable, guilty, or hard on yourself. When Svadhisthana in balance, you feel creative, positive, and receptive to change—like the ocean and its tides, you're in the flow.


 Warrior II Pose



Solar Plexus Chakra-- Manipura Chakra

  • Location: Solar plexus and navel
  • System: Muscular and digestive
  • Gland: Pancreas
  • Associations: Power, determination, self-control, intellect, introversion/extroversion
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Mantra: "Ram"

When the Manipura is in balance, you feel alive and have the self-esteem and confidence to take action and be productive. When it's blocked, you will lack courage, self-esteem, and feel sluggish and inert. By working on this chakra, you can awaken your inner power and get over your fear of taking risks.


 Boat Pose



Heart Chakra-- Anahata


  • Location: Heart
  • System: Circulatory, respiratory, immune
  • Gland: Thymus
  • Associations: Compassion, love, acceptance, emotional openness, relating, giving
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Mantra: "Yam"

Awaken your unconditional love through compassion, forgiveness, and acceptance. When the heart chakra is blocked, you will become possessive and codependent, and may establish dysfunctional relationships. You may also stay isolated for fear of rejection. When you stimulate your Anahata chakra, you can heal your past wounds by reopening your heart, learning to love unconditionally, and form healthy relationships.


 Ustrasana/Camel Pose



Throat Chakra-- Vishuddha 

  • Location: Throat
  • System: Metabolism
  • Gland: Thyroid
  • Associations: Expression, abundance, manifestation, intuition, communication
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Ether
  • Mantra: Ham

When your Vishuddha is blocked, you can feel like you are unable to find your voice or your truth. You may also be overly talkative but not listen to others. When this chakra is open and stimulated, you can better communicate your emotions in healthy ways. You also become better at listening to others and honoring their personal truths without judgment.

 Bridge Pose



Third-Eye Chakra-- Anja

  • Location: Between eyebrows (third eye)
  • System: Endocrine
  • Gland: Pituitary
  • Associations: Insight, wisdom, self-awareness, spiritual awareness, self-realization
  • Color: Violet
  • Element: Light
  • Mantra: "Om"

This chakra is associated with your intuition, or sixth sense, and governs how the rest of the chakras function. When Ajna is functioning well, you have insight, and you trust your inner wisdom to face life's challenges and choices. When it's blocked, you feel close-minded, too attached to logic, untrusting, and cynical. Working on the sixth chakra opens your mind to the bigger picture and different perspectives, and it helps you receive the wisdom that cannot be seen or heard by ordinary senses.





Crown Chakra-- Sahasrara

  • Location: Crown of the head
  • System: Nervous
  • Gland: Pineal
  • Associations: Universal consciousness, intuition, connection with the divine, peace of mind
  • Color: White
  • Element: None, beyond the elements
  • Mantra: None

The crown chakra connects to beauty itself and the spiritual realm. It helps you to understand who you are beyond your physical self—that you are a spiritual being having a human experience. It is not located in the body but actually hovers above the crown of the head. When it's closed, you think happiness can only come from the outside, and you suffer. Working on this chakra helps you to feel free in any situation.


Savasana/Corpse Pose


Interested to get your yoga journey started? Or are you already a practicing yogi or yogini? In any way, you will enjoy this Awesome Maps Yoga Map, featuring the energy points of the world and giving insight into the yoga philosophy, the map will guide you in picking your next yoga destination getaway. Get inspired and plan your next trip with ease. A beautiful matte finish on this smooth watercolour design adds the final touches of beauty and peace, a thoughtful gift for a friend and a serene piece for yourself to enjoy. This map is full of information that is everything yoga, so you can plan your yoga retreat with ease.





Pen down your favourite yoga quotes or mark your yoga trips on the map. Cross off the places you have experienced (if you'd like) and add a photo or two on this sturdy map. We promise it makes a living space more cosy and beautiful with the hand-designed watercolour map!


The Yoga Map can be found here.


Yoga is more than just a millennial past-time, it is a spiritual healing to seek balance within yourself and getting in touch with all your chakras and energy. I would recommend everyone to try out yoga, even to just loosen your bones and relieve them from the day's tension. Who knows, you may enjoy the sessions too!


~Have a ho (good) week ahead!~😊

Leave a comment

* Required fields

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published